Conejo Valley Schools Amongst Most Distinguished in State

conejo valley DistrictEleven of the 424 public schools named as California Distinguished Schools are located in the Conejo Valley, according to Wednesday’s press release from the office of the state superintendent for public instruction.

Locally, they are:

  • Conejo Valley Unified School District: Banyan, Sycamore, Weathersfield, Westlake, Westlake Hills, Wildwood.
  • Oak Park Unified School District: Brookside, Oak Hills, Red Oak.
  • Las Virgenes Unified School District: Willow, Yerba Buena.

“I applaud these strong, thriving schools that are making such impressive strides in preparing their students for continued success,” Superintendent Tom Torlakson said in the release. “This award is well-deserved by these school communities for their enduring dedication to high standards, hard work, and unwavering support.”

Las Virgenes’ Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Daniel Stepenosky said in a press release, “We are immensely proud of the hard work of our students, the engagement and participation of our families and the vision and dedication of our educators.  These awards affirm our steadfast commitment to quality education and leadership in Las Virgenes.”

The 2014 California Distinguished Schools Program focuses on California’s students’ right to an equitable and rigorous education, and recognizes those schools that have made progress in narrowing the academic achievement gap, the release said. 

Leave a Reply